Articles · Poems

My best mate

“Love is unconditional” they say. I disagree, for love comes with a lot of expectations and mutual agreement. If there is one kind of love that is unconditional, it is the love between friends. Friends come in all shapes and sizes. Some are sweet and some are sour; with some, you don’t need to be cautious or hold back. They watch your back and save your ass. These morons may not talk to you everyday or follow you on social media, they may not know your favorite flavor of ice cream or pinky-swear to be friends forever, they may even forget to wish you on your birthday but they won’t think twice to travel twenty kilometers at the middle of the night when you need them. These are the kind of people you need to hold on to tightly! Because friends like these are rare and we need to cherish them in all phases of life.

One such friend has written this sexist yet very sweet poem for me 😛 and I wanted to publish it here!

என் இனிய சிநேகிதியே
உண் கரங்கள் பற்றிக்கொண்டாள்
என் காதலியின் வெப்பமடி
நீ தலை கோதிவிடும் போது
என் அம்மாவின் பாசமடி
சினம் கொண்டு திமிரும் போது
என் தந்தையின் ஆண்மையடி
அனைத்தையும் அவன் இஷ்டத்திற்கு செய்த இறைவன்,
உம்மை மட்டும்
என் இஷ்டத்திற்கு உருவாக்கி உள்ளானோ?
காதலும் கொஞ்சம்
காமமும் கொஞ்சம்
நட்பும் கொஞ்சம்
பாசமும் கொஞ்சம்
கோபமும் கொஞ்சம்
வெகுளித்தனமும் கொஞ்சம்
இத்தனையும் கொஞ்சம் கொஞ்சம் சேர்த்து படைத்ததாலோ என்னவோ
உன்னை கொஞ்சம் சின்னதாய் படைத்தானோ!

For the benefit of those who can’t read Tamizh, I have attempted to translate it.

My dear friend,
Your grasp fills me with warmth,
Like my lover’s fondness,
When you ruffle my hair,
I feel my mom’s affection.
When you’re filled with rage,
I see my dad’s tough demeanor.
Everything was created according to His (God) wish,
But you, according to mine.
A bit of love,
A bit of lust,
Amiable and affectionate,
With childlike grace,
With little bits,
He created you,
To fit everything inside,
Your little self!

Love you idiot! Thanks for the sweet little poem ❤

Pooh-Piglet-babies-leaves-autumn

12 thoughts on “My best mate

  1. Oh but love is unconditional. All the rules and commitments and expectations and agreements are merely to convenience the people. To maintain the system. But you seem to know all that already. 🙂
    Great writing. Thanks for translations 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

