Poems

My Worst Nightmare

I am afraid.
Afraid that I may end up
Being their definition,
Of, what I ought to be.
Afraid that I’m not strong enough
To fight back.
Afraid that their
Illogical ideologies and blind beliefs,
Are far more deeply rooted
Than my need for a rationale.
Afraid that I may give up
One day, when they’ve sucked up
All my vitality.

Love is blind,
They said.
Love cuts across borders,
They said.
However three seven seven,
Declared love illegal.
Love with consent, a criminal act.
Is love crime?
My “fashion” was their “provocation”.
They made me clothe
Every inch of my body.
But a habit and a diaper
Were lifted with no discrimination.

I am afraid.
Afraid that I may end up
Being their definition,
Of, what I ought to be.
Afraid that I’m not strong enough
To fight back.
Afraid that their
Illogical ideologies and blind beliefs,
Are far more deeply rooted
Than my need for a rationale.
Afraid that I may give up
One day, when they’ve sucked up
All my vitality.

“Beware of male friends”,
They said.
“Unwanted trouble”,
They said.
I failed to beware of women
And ended up with
A stabbed back.
They almost convinced me that the friends
I make online,
Have nothing but evil intentions.
I was confused but merely smirked,
When their potential groom
Was from Shaadi.com.

I am afraid.
Afraid that I may end up
Being their definition,
Of, what I ought to be.
Afraid that I’m not strong enough
To fight back.
Afraid that their
Illogical ideologies and blind beliefs,
Are far more deeply rooted
Than my need for a rationale.
Afraid that I may give up
One day, when I suffocate and accept
My inability to fight back.

2 thoughts on “My Worst Nightmare

Leave a Reply

